Skip to main content


Fri 16 Jun, 8pm



Book Now

Irish Chamber Orchestra presents AMERICA!

at Monkstown Parish Church

An evening of iconic American music, fully orchestrated by the Irish Chamber Orchestra and directed by Katherine Hunka, set within the breath-taking surroundings of Monkstown Parish Church.
AMERICA is an imaginative postcard of iconic American works by musical giants, Bernstein, Barber and Adams alongside Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla
Bernstein - Westside Story Medey
John Adams - Shaker Loops
Barber - Adagio
Piazzolla - The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
A medley of hits from Bernstein’s 1957 West Side Story, including Tonight, Maria, Cool and the rousing but brilliant America set the stage for what is to come. Through the jazzy Latin-American rhythms, Bernstein’s music is ever inspiring.
The piece that crystallised John Adams’ creative world was Shaker Loops.  Radical and minimalist, this shimmering and scintillating music has mass appeal. Adams’ music has forward momentum, and in Shaker Loops, especially, a strong rhythmic beat.
Samuel Barber was only 27 years old when he wrote the piece of music that would come to define his entire career.  His Adagio for Strings is one of the most loved yet solemn and evocative pieces of American music and has often been called upon to serve in times of great emotion or at funerals of American dignitaries including Bernstein.
Piazzolla’s development of tango music is notable for brilliant, original and likeable orchestration. His sassy Four Seasons of Buenos Aires is a vivid sequence in which the changing moods of the seasons are expressed by means of an almost limitless emotional range and depth. Piazzolla’s sensuous Four Seasons of Buenos Aires are exciting evocations of the vibrant changing seasons in Argentina. 
The Irish Chamber Orchestra is one of Europe’s most lauded chamber ensembles, renowned for its inspired programming and unrivalled virtuosity, energy and individuality. 
It is funded by The Arts Council of Ireland/An Chomhairle Ealaíon.