Skip to main content


Sun 23 Apr, 8pm



Book Now

Music Network presents

Mia Cooper, Katherine Hunka, Ioana Petcu-Colan and Helena Wood

Four of Ireland’s finest violinists – from the country’s most prestigious orchestras to boot – come together for the very first time in what promises to be a scintillating concert - a specially curated programme that runs the gamut from Paganini to the present day with an exciting new commission by Ian Wilson inspired by Cy Twombly’s ‘Quattro Stagioni’. 
Leader of the RTÉ Concert Orchestra since 2006, Mia Cooper is a highly-regarded chamber musician who has graced the stage with the Barbican Trio, Gould Trio, Brodsky Quartet, Fibonacci Sequence and Academy of St Martin in the Fields.
Katherine Hunka, leader of the Irish Chamber Orchestra since 2002, has collaborated with Murray Perriah, Joshua Bell, Nigel Kennedy and Anthony Marwood amongst others, while Ioana Petcu-Colan, Associate Leader of the Ulster Orchestra, has worked with artists as diverse as Martin Hayes, Arcade Fire, John Abercrombie and members of the Alban Berg and Vanbrugh quartets.
Completing this stellar quartet is Helena Wood, leader of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. A seasoned performer on TV and radio, she has given numerous recitals at such prestigious venues as Wigmore Hall, Barbican Hall and the Royal Festival Hall.
Rodion Shchedrin - Balalaika
Béla Bartók - 44 Duos, Sz. 98  (A selection from the collection)
Friedrich Hermann - Capriccio No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 2
Friedrich Hermann - Capriccio No. 2 in G Major, Op. 5
Ian Wilson - Quattro Stagioni (New Commission by Music Network)
Georg Philipp Telemann - Concerto in G Major, TWV 40:201
Johann Sebastian Bach - Adagio in C Major (from Toccata, Adagio and Fugue, BWV 564)
Johan Halvorsen - Passacaglia (after G.F. Handel's Suite No. 7 in G Minor for Harpsichord)
Grażyna Bacewicz - Quartetto per 4 violini
Niccolò Paganini - Caprice in A Minor, Op. 1, No. 24 (Arr. by Skip Martin/Paul Frost)