Skip to main content


  January 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4


Sat 10 Feb, 8pm



Book Now

The Vanbrugh with pianist Michael McHale

The Vanbrugh with Michael McHale present three contrasting works from the piano quartet repertoire. The dark and dramatic Mozart, from 1785, is one of the first pieces written for this combination of instruments.
The Stanford and Dvorak come from different worlds: Dublin-born Stanford under the towering influence of Brahms and Schumann, while the Dvorak comes from his lyrical world of Slavonic song and dance.
The Vanbrugh has emerged from the legacy of the legendary Vanbrugh Quartet. Over three decades the ensemble has given close to three thousand concerts, presenting the chamber music repertoire to audiences throughout Ireland, UK, Europe, the Americas, and the Far East.

Michael McHale (piano) - Winner of the Terence Judd / Hallé Award in 2009, Belfast-born Michael McHale has established himself as one of Ireland’s leading pianists and has developed a busy international career as a solo recitalist, concerto soloist and chamber musician.
Keith Pascoe (violin), Simon Aspell (viola), and Christopher Marwood (cello) of the quartet continue to carry the torch together as the nucleus of The Vanbrugh.
For the current concert season (2017/18) they present works from the piano quartet repertoire in collaboration with the acclaimed pianist Michael McHale.