Skip to main content

Patron Donation Award & Studio Space Award 2020 - Announced

11 March 2020
Patron Donation Award & Studio Space Award 2020 - Announced
Pavilion Theatre is delighted to announce this year’s Patron Donation Award recipients:
  • Dead Centre
  • David Horan
  • Jane Madden
  • Ali Hardiman
  • Ceol Connected
  • CoisCéim
Since 2015 Pavilion Theatre has supported artists and companies across the performing arts in a variety of ways including mentorship programmes, short-term residencies in Pavilion Theatre’s first floor Gallery space, a wider range of co-commissions, co-productions and the Patron Donation Award for artists, companies, producers, venues and festivals in theatre, music and dance.
This award is made possible by the generous private donations of Pavilion Theatre’s loyal patrons.
This year’s recipients each contributed a few words:
Dead Centre are based in Dublin. Over the last eight years, they have premiered five projects in Dublin: Souvenir (2012), LIPPY (2013), Chekhov's First Play (2015), Hamnet (2017) and Beckett's Room (2019).
“Nothing is more freeing than a theatre taking a chance on your idea and offering you support before you have made the product. It is always amazing when anyone shows this kind of belief, and it allows you the opportunity to build an idea from the ground up; knowing that the audience are directly supporting us makes this award particularly cool. The award has supported some really fascinating and diverse new work in the past, so we’re proud to be part of that gang”
David Horan is a theatre director and playwright. He is also the Artistic Director of Bewley’s Café Theatre. Most recently, he directed This Beautiful Village by Lisa Tierney-Keogh for the Abbey Theatre. He also co-wrote and co-directed CLASS with Iseult Golden.
“In 2019, I was selected to be a part of Fishamble's A Play For Ireland initiative and was attached to Pavilion Theatre. This Patron Donation Award will allow me to develop the work that came out of workshops at Pavilion Theatre and provides crucial continuing support for my playwriting”
Jane Madden is a Dublin based playwright and founder of Eccles Theatre Group, which makes irreverent, colourful comedies for all ages.
“This award doesn't only afford me the chance to work on my writing, it also offers me the means to host a development workshop with a really exciting group of artists. Theatre being a collaborative art, the importance of this cannot be understated. I'm absolutely thrilled to receive the support of Pavilion Theatre and its patrons, whose generous support makes this award possible.”
Ali Hardiman is an actor-writer from Dublin and founder of ILA Productions. Her debut, self-penned play Electric enjoyed a successful tour of the UK & Ireland in 2019 and has received development funding for a feature film adaptation from Screen Ireland with Treasure Entertainment.
“I am absolutely thrilled to be a recipient of this year’s Patron Donation Award which will give me the opportunity to develop my play with an incredible team of artists at this crucial stage of the creative process. It is hugely encouraging to have the support of such an established and highly respected theatre”
Ceol Connected was established in 2011 by musician, educator, researcher, and theatre-maker Dr Thomas Johnston. As a company, they strive to create meaningful, beguiling, virtuosic, fantastical, and gloriously joyful work for young audiences.
“We are hugely grateful to Pavilion Theatre and its patrons for supporting Ceol Connected’s development of Winter Wunderground. As we embark on creating an exciting piece of gig theatre for young audiences, this award will allow us to work in ways which would not have otherwise been possible - thank you!”
CoisCéim aims to be at the forefront of the evolution of dance as an artform – in world class performance work, in unique access and participation initiatives.
“Pavilion Theatre has been a key partner for fifteen years. This award will celebrate our longstanding relationship as Pavilion Theatre come onboard as a co-commissioner of our 25th anniversary production and, through financing the final stage of development, enable us to allow logical time to fully harness creative flow”
Now in its fifth year, this programme has already helped finance numerous projects including 29 recipients of the Patron Donation Awards, Colin Murphy’s Bailed Out!, Monkeyshine Theatre’s Little Light , Pavilion Theatre’s Culture Night programme since 2014, and the wonderful History of the Pavilion exhibit by Kate Heffernan.
At this point, we would also like to congratulate the recipients of our Studio Space Award 2020:
  • Oisín Robbins
  • Jane Madden
  • Fiona Rose Stout
  • Lisa Nally
  • Candlelit Tales
Based in Pavilion Theatre’s Gallery space, the Award provides a free, good-sized, bright workspace at Pavilion Theatre overlooking Marine Road and Dún Laoghaire Harbour to enable artists and makers in theatre and dance to research and develop new work.
Keep an eye on our FacebookTwitter and Instagram pages for future updates.
This year’s group will be joining our previous Patron Donation Award recipients, as follows…
2019: Clare Monnelly and Livin’ Dred, Danielle Galligan and Gavin Kostick, Kellie Hughes, Landmark Productions, Rory Nolan
2018: Branar, Bombinate Theatre, Iseult Golden
2017: Margaret McAuliffe, Jacinta Sheerin, Anna Newell, Christian O'Reilly, Gillian Grattan, Janet Moran, Una McKevitt, Lords of Strut.
2016: Noelle Brown, Stefanie Preissner, Abbie Spallen, Conall Morrison, Louise White, Andrew Flynn
2015: Replay Theatre Company, Sonya Kelly, Willfredd Theatre, Kevin Gildea, One Duck Theatre Company, Luke Murphy